Thursday, April 15, 2010

Live at the Forum: Overview and Outlook for Housing Preservation and Tenant Protection Act

Next Tuesday, April 20, the Center for Housing Policy will host a "Live at the Forum" event on the Housing Preservation and Tenant Protection Act (H.R. 4868). During the event, Toby Halliday of the National Housing Trust will provide an overview of the Act, as well as a look ahead to the House Financial Services Committee markup expected next month. He will also answer questions about how the Act will help stabilize housing for some of the nation’s poorest households.
  • Part I: Hear About the Legislation - The two-part event begins at 1:00 p.m. Eastern (10:00 a.m. Pacific) with a 30-minute conference call, where details about the legislation will be presented. The call-in number is (712) 432-1001 and the access code is 452746624#.
  • Part II: Interact With the Speaker - Toby Halliday will be online from 1:30 - 3:00 p.m. Eastern (10:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. Pacific) to answer your questions on the HousingPolicy.org Forum.You must be a registered user on the HousingPolicy.org Forum to participate in this event.
About the legislation
The Housing Preservation and Tenant Protection Act (H.R. 4868), introduced by House Financial Services Committee Chairman Barney Frank, would make significant improvements in federal law to make it easier to preserve federally assisted rental housing that is at risk of loss or conversion and provide new protections to the people living in this housing. The bill was formally introduced in March and its major goals include (1) Providing resources and incentives to prevent the further loss of affordable housing units; (2) Preventing the displacement of disabled, elderly and other low-income tenants; (3) Preserving rural housing; and (4) Establishing a national database to further preservation. For additional background, visit the National Housing Trust Web site.

No comments: