Wednesday, September 30, 2009

Live at the Forum: Mandatory Mediation in the Foreclosure Process

Tomorrow, October 1, from 2-4 p.m. EDT (11 a.m.-1 p.m. PDT) the Center for Housing Policy will host a two-part "Live at the Forum" event on mandatory mediation featuring Alon Cohen and Andrew Jakabovics, authors of a new Center for American Progress report entitled, "It's Time We Talked, Mandatory Mediation in the Foreclosure Process." Rachel Gallegos, a law clerk in Philadelphia, will also speak about her involvement with the city's Mortgage Foreclosure Diversion Pilot Program, which is one of the nation's earliest foreclosure mediation programs.

Part I: Hear About the Report and the Philadelphia Case Study - The event begins at 2 p.m. EDT (11 a.m. PDT) with a 30-minute conference call, where major findings from the report will be presented. The call-in number is (712) 432-1001 and the access code is 498796833#.

Part II: Interact With the Authors and Practitioners - Immediately following the call, from 2:30-4 p.m. EDT, Alon, Rachel, and Andrew will be on the Discussion Forum to answer your questions. All questions concerning this topic should be posted to this thread, and you are welcome to post at any time leading up to or during the event. Questions will be answered on a first-come, first-served basis until time runs out.

Please note that you will need to refresh your browser periodically during the live event to view new questions and responses.

About the Report
Foreclosure mediation is helping to ease the current foreclosure crisis in over a dozen states. In "It's Time We Talked, Mandatory Mediation in the Foreclosure Process," authors Andrew Jakabovics and Alon Cohen lay out examples of foreclosure mediation programs, their benefits, the role the federal government can play to ensure their success, and best practices for setting up and running such programs. Click here to view an executive summary, or view the full report.

No comments: